Back to Blog

Ottawa Sports Awards Gala Sold Out, Individual Sport Award Winners Revealed

Jan. 31, 2018

The 65th Annual Ottawa Sports Awards Gala is tonight at Algonquin College, recognizing the best of Ottawa’s amateur sports community in 2017. The gala will be filled to capacity, with over 600 winners and supporters in attendance and tickets sold out.

The full house will enjoy the presentations of the Lifetime and Major Awards, as well as the impressive lineup of Individual Sport Award winners who distinguished themselves in 64 sport disciplines. Biographies on each of the individual sport award winners are now available at

Recently named to the 2018 Canadian Olympic Team, skeleton athlete Mirela Rahneva is one of the newly announced winners, as is World Champion and Paralympic hopeful Tyrone Henry who is waiting to learn if he will be part Canada’s men’s sledge hockey team in Pyeongchang.

The list of individual winners also includes Special Olympic gold medallists Jack Fan and Katie Xu, and Summer Olympians Melissa Bishop, Melanie McCann, Erika Seltenreich-Hodgson, and ageless Paralympic runner Jason Dunkerley.

The Spirit of Sport Award will be presented to Algonquin College men’s basketball player Dan Stoddard, who is enjoying his first season of intercollegiate basketball at the age of 38.

Each individual sport winner – whether a national household name, a community hero, or an up and comer – is a part of Ottawa’s sporting heritage which the Ottawa Sports Awards is proud to celebrate.


For more information contact:

Jen Elliott
Ottawa Sports Awards


[email protected]