Back to Blog

Mayor’s Cup Winner Sue Holloway Headlines Lifetime Achievement Honourees at Feb. 1 Ottawa Sports Awards

Jan. 16, 2016

OTTAWA — Five of the city’s finest contributors to sport will be called to the stage to receive Ottawa Sports Awards’ Lifetime Achievement Awards at the annual banquet celebrating the finest that local amateur sport has to offer on Wednesday, Feb. 1, at Algonquin College.

Recently saluted as one of our country’s all-time best athletes as an inductee into Canada’s Sports Hall of Fame, Sue Holloway will receive this year’s Mayor’s Cup. The award for Outstanding Contribution to Sport in Ottawa recognizes the enormous impact the two-time Olympic medallist has made on our community beyond her inspirational high-performance sport career. Holloway has tirelessly filled a wide range of volunteer roles with many local sports organizations, including the Nakkertok Nordic cross-country ski club and Rideau Canoe Club.

“I’m very honoured to be presenting an award of this significance to Sue Holloway,” says Mayor Jim Watson. “Sue has been an incredible athlete and promoter of athletics in our city for a long time. We’re very proud of her historic achievements as the only Canadian woman to participate in both the Summer and Winter Games (in the same year), she’s a double-medallist, and she gives back so much to our community, as you see as the co-chair of our bid to host the Canada Summer Games for 2021.”

Paula Preston, a volunteer of the Kanata Rhythmic Gymnastics Club for more than 20 years, will receive the second-ever Spirit of Sport Award. Lois LaQuerre will be recognized with the Lifetime Achievement Award – Technical Official, for her more than 30 years of artistic gymnastics officiating. For her more than three decades of involvement with the sport of volleyball, Cathy O’Doherty will receive the Lifetime Achievement Award – Sports Volunteer/Administrator. Don Moxley of the Ottawa Cycling Club will be presented with the Brian Kilrea Lifetime Achievement Coaching Award for his more than 30 years of cycling and Nordic ski instruction.

Each of the Lifetime Achievement Award winners will collect their honours at the Feb. 1 banquet.

Full biographies on each of the Lifetime recipients are available at:

“There is no doubt that the sport community of Ottawa has been well served by the decades of volunteerism of these outstanding individuals,” said Ottawa Sports Awards Board of Directors Chair Doug Scorrar. “We are extremely pleased to share their stories with the larger public and recognize their support of sport and their contribution to the fabric of our city. Countless athletes, coaches, and volunteers were able to live their dreams because of the dedication of these remarkable people.”

The Ottawa Sports Awards is the largest and longest recurring municipal amateur sport recognition program in Canada. In addition to the Lifetime honourees, the city’s top athlete in over 60 individual sports will be unveiled in advance of the banquet, as well as local teams set to be honoured for winning a championship at the provincial level or higher.

Major awards for Male and Female Athlete, Team and Coach of the Year will also be announced prior to the banquet, and will receive recognition on the evening of Feb. 1. The reception begins at 6 p.m., dinner is at 7 p.m., and award presentations commence at 8 p.m.

For more information and to reserve tickets online up to Jan. 25, visit


Doug Scorrar
Chair, Ottawa Sports Awards
[email protected]

Charlie Pinkerton
Ottawa Sports Awards
[email protected]